What I Wore: Chester Races, Ladies Day 2012

 

This week I embarked upon my first ever trip to Ladies Day at the races! To be honest I don’t know too much about horse racing but it was a trip with all of the girls from work and so I knew I’d have a wonderful day. I wrote a detailed blog for the Peaches and Cream website to tell you all of the gossip – you can view that by clicking here – but I also thought it would be nice to share a bit about my outfit for the day.

First of all I snapped up a gorgeous vintage dress at the Vintage Showroom in Liverpool. It was a last-minute dash again (do you remember my scramble to find a piece for the Christmas party?) but I found a lovely dress. Mart, the owner, picked this dress out for me and even altered it as I waited. He was really helpful and funny, I’ll definitely be going back to him again. It was a halter neck floral dress with a thick waist belt and long, pleated skirt.

Next, I took to Bold Street and happened to pop upstairs in Soho Vintage. My flatmates had told me about a lovely new Bollywood-themed jewellery shop, Bollywood Bazaar, that had just opened and so I just had to go and explore. I found the most beautiful earrings and some bindis and so I decided to take my recent Indian Princess makeup as inspiration and head to the races as a Bollywood princess! The lady in there, Dipi, was really lovely and we ended up chatting for ages. I showed her the photos of my shoot with Preserved Vintage recently and she recognised one of the models… it was Dana, the face of her campaigns, ha ha! That’s one thing I love about Liverpool, there’s a real sense of community and everyone is linked in some way.

Picking out colours from my dress, I created a smoky eye look using lime green, turquoise, black and purple pigments. I topped up my look with some No.9 lashes from Peaches and Cream, my all-time favourites. Nicola (one of my bosses) had done Amy Childs’ makeup during the week and told me that she’d gone for two sets of No.9s (you can read all about it here on the Peaches blog). I decided that if two sets were good enough for Amy, they were definitely going to be good enough for me! Funnily enough someone asked me at the races if my bindi was a vajazzle so Amy’s influence was with me in lash and in bindi.

All in all I had a lovely day and I was SO glad I’d worn a floor length dress… my feet were killing by about 3pm so Big Mare smuggled me some slippers and nobody was any the wiser! I really enjoyed wearing my bindi and had lots of compliments on it so I think I’m going to make it more of a feature in my makeup. I absolutely love wearing jewellery and love anything that’s covered in gems (no pun intended) so I really felt glam with it on.

I wasn’t the only one who had put a lot of time and thought into my outfit – here’s a photo with me and all of the girls! We’re all quite different and so I think our outfits were really varied which was lovely. Who’s dress do you like the best? Leave me a comment below and tell me.

ASOS Photoshoot with Preserved Vintage – Bollywood Makeup

A couple of weeks ago I teamed up with my friend Lucy at Preserved Vintage for her latest ASOS Marketplace photo shoot. Lucy has a lovely shop in Quiggins in Liverpool but she also sells online on ASOS. The time had come for her to photograph her latest stock and so I was on hand to inject a bit of my latest beauty must-have… Bollywood themed makeup.

Lucy arrived at mine with two models for the shoot, Kim and Dana. They both look quite different so it was interesting to see how different the same makeup scheme could look on both of them. I used a template for both which featured a variety of bright colours, but gave each of them a colour scheme. 

Kim was first for a cool makeover. Her paler skin contrasted the blue tones of her makeup really nicely, making everything look really bright.

Dana was next for a warm makeover. Her darker skin made the warm colours of her makeup look gorgeous, and I went to town with some golden tones for her highlighter.

When styling the girls, Lucy took their colour schemes into consideration and dressed them accordingly. The photos, and – of course – the clothes, were absolutely gorgeous! You can take a look at the entire collection by visiting the Preserved Vintage marketplace. Which is your favourite outfit? Leave me a comment to tell me below. (P.S there’s free post on all UK orders until this Thursday!)

Happy shopping: https://marketplace.asos.com/boutique/preserved-vintage.