Intergalactic Makeup based on the Illamasqua Sophie-I Technique


On a mission to spread the word about the ultimate smokey eye, Illamasqua have recently launched the Sophie-I campaign, including a step-by-step tutorial for how to create a classic makeup look.

Inspired by the shapes that they had used but excited to create a new spin on the look, myself and Mixed Gems regular Bridget decided to play with some glitters and gems to add some sparkle to the look!

To start with, I lined Bridget’s eyebrows and filled them in with glitter.

Next, I adapted the Sophie-I technique for creating a smokey eye, bringing in a bit of Peaches and Cream drama, and coated her lids with glitter instead of shadow.

Following this I began to play with Bridget’s face. I used a thick coat of foundation to give her a flawless look, then used bright pink blushers to compliment the tones in her glitters.

When contouring Bridget’s face, I used cooler pigments so that the look was fresh and icy.

A finishing touch that complimented the glitz of this creation, I added a few silver and pink gems to frame her eye makeup and ensure that this was the feature of the makeup look.

Et voila! Initially I had hoped that Bridget might look like a (very pretty) alien, but by the time we’d finished I was picking up on a bit of a Black Swan vibe! Perhaps this was down to her enormous ballerina-style bun? What do you think?

I’ve entered this look into the Illamasqua competition for interpretations of the Sophie-I look. Keep your fingers crossed for me and if you’re interested in entering then click here for all of the information you’ll need.

Would you like to see what Bridget looked like the last time I did her makeup? Click here to see how she emerged after a Zoo Project inspired leopard makeover.

Comments

  1. Inspirational post Rosaleen – I have gems/face jewellery in my plan for a future photo shoot. Keep posting. Gina of http://www.doverjaquesphotography.com

  2. Let your creativity flow. Jay

Trackbacks

  1. […] campaigns are so innovative. One of their team, Glen, demonstrated a smokey eye on me using the Sophie-I technique. Using a step-by-step method, he did one of my eyes and I did the other, further highlighting how […]

  2. […] created for the Illamasqua Sophie-i competition a while ago? You can see my alien-inspired look by clicking here. Cherish this Gem!TwitterFacebookEmailStumbleUponLinkedInRedditPrintDiggLike this:LikeBe the first […]

What did you think of this little Gem? Leave me a comment...

