A Makeup Look Inspired by ‘The Artist’

Earlier this week, my friend Helen was all set to work at the BBC Folk Music Awards as an event assistant. Kitted out in a beautiful black vintage dress and retro heels from Raiders Vintage in Liverpool, her look was inspired by everyone’s new favourite film, the Artist. (I feel like I’d be cheating if I didn’t point out that I haven’t seen it yet! It is on my to do list for this weekend.)

Capturing the simplicity of old-time glamour, we decided that we should give Helen a classic light-to-dark smokey eye. I used a soft shade on her eyelids and then used browns and blacks to add depth to her underliner and the corners of her eyes.

As if she were made for this era, Helen’s skin is very fair. I used a highlighter over her cheekbones to give her skin an extra glow and applied a rosy pink blusher to the apples of her cheeks to compliment the red lips she was about to sport.

For extra perfection, I applied a lip liner to Helen’s lips before applying a pillar-box red shade of lipstick. The brightness of this red clashed with her pale skin and gave her pout an extra wow factor!

With rolls in her hair and coffee in hand, Helen dashed for her taxi. Later on she texted me to say that backstage, a certain celebrity told her that she looked like something out of… The Artist! A brilliant result, we were happy that our creative efforts went rewarded.

I suppose it made a nice change from the last time I did Helen’s makeup…

Dream Jobs – The Magazine Publisher: Kerry O’Coy of Fused Magazine

Imagine having a job that allowed you to compile an eccentric guide to your city every single month; not just contributing to it but actually running it? This is life as Kerry O’Coy of Fused Magazine knows it. At the turn of the new millennium, herself and her husband Dave launched Fused Magazine. From here, they launched the Area Culture Guide in 2009 which is now a monthly publication and a high-quality guide to what’s on in the West Midlands. When contemplating their initial inspiration, Kerry explains that, “like most people inspired to launch something new, it was because we were arrogant and didn’t think we were being catered for”.

With hours that can range from a standard 9.30am-6.30pm to a nocturnal 9pm-12am, no day is ever the same for Kerry but it sounds like that’s what she loves about her job. Read on for an anecdote of what it’s really like to publish your own magazine from my favourite Wolverhampton woman!

What does an average day consist of when you’re the editor of your own magazine?
Well I start with checking emails, scanning Facebook, scouring Twitter and replying to what I need to. That pretty much continues throughout the day. Most days are different but generally, depending where we are in the month, it will include sending potential articles to writers, setting deadlines and reading articles that come in. If we are working on events or trade missions overseas then I’ll do some research on that. My role involves me to wear so many hats – I can be writing and doing layout one minute, dealing with a marketing enquiry and sorting details for a party the next. It is never dull!

When compiling the Area Culture Guide, what kind of things do you look for in a story that you just have to run?
Something that catches my eye, that interests me personally. Would I like to go to that exhibition? Wear those clothes? Have that illustrators work on my wall? If the answer is no then it probably won’t go in. I suppose we keep things quite close and personal to us. We try to act like a digest of recommended happenings and events rather than put everything in just because it is taking place that month.

Area focuses on your community. How do you go about making local contacts, and, more importantly, how do you maintain the contacts that you make long the way?
It is really easy now; a tweet to say hi, an email introduction. When we first started it was very much face-to-face and getting on the phone but now it is a lot more casual and remote. We are pretty open so I think people feel comfortable in approaching us also. We attend events we need to and like to (art gallery openings, parties, gigs) and so you bump in to people that way too.

An art piece by Meeno Kawaii, one of Fused's most wonderful illustrators.

There’s so much to juggle at Fused Towers – organising local events such as the Urban Outfitters student lock-in, keeping on top of the Area Guide, heading to SXSW every year… what’s your strategy for ensuring that everything is organised?
Lists, lists and more lists. I suppose the more you do things the easier it becomes. We have a great team of writers and contributors around us too that are very reliable so that is brilliant. And so much talent!

Recently you moved from your city centre office space and began working from home. How have you found this transition?
It has been GREAT! At least I am not sick of it yet. I treat it the same as if I was leaving the house every morning – so if I get a last minute interview or meeting I can dash out. Moving to a home office was initially a necessity with issues out of our control but so far we’ve been that busy we haven’t even had chance to look for an office (even if we wanted to).

What would you say are the highlights of working for yourself? Would you recommend it?
I love working for myself. I set my hours, I set my rules and I answer to only me. I love the freedom. I get to travel a lot and I couldn’t do this in a ‘regular’ job (unless maybe I was a travel writer). I can/could work from anywhere and get mostly the same results and having that knowledge is brilliant. So yes – GO DO IT!

Kerry’s top tips for working in a creative industry:

  • Get a great portfolio together. For us it is really helpful to see a selection of work, whether that is written, photography or illustration. It helps us to get a handle on what you do.
  • Be an authority. It is so easy to start a blog/Tumblr so if you LOVE fashion then prove it! Love art, then how do we know? Write about it, comment on it, learn from it.
  • Network your ass off. The people that I work with the best are people I know. Usually they have kept in contact (not stalked), told me what they are up to and sent me examples of work. They are the ones that get the commissions – when we have them.

I worked with Kerry and Dave for a summer during 2010 and it was such a brilliant experience. They were both so positive, encouraging me to pursue my dreams and they were even the pair that suggested I start this very blog! To see some examples of the work that I did with them, check out their annual student editions of Fused Magazine by using the links below.

For all things Fused, follow Kerry and Dave on Twitter and be sure to check out the Fused website: www.fusedmagazine.com

More in the Dream Jobs series: